Garbage soup – get your veggies and increase water intake!

Garbage soup pot

Okay, don’t judge my garbage soup yet!  Let me explain a few things first…

I came up with this idea back when I wanted to increase my daily water intake (I always struggle with drinking enough water) AND increase the amount of veggies I was eating…aka getting more nutrient-dense food into my daily routine.

Soooo, just like a garbage omelet is an omelet with everything in the refrigerator thrown in, so it is with my garbage soup!  I take any veggies I have on hand, chop them up, throw them in the stock pot, cover with water, lace it with my seasonings, and simmer for hours.  VOILA.  Garbage Soup which is CHOCK FULL of veggies!  The liquid in it becomes rich with vitamins and minerals.  That means that when I’m drinking from the bottom of the soup bowl after I’ve eaten all those delicious vegetables, I’m also drinking water infused with vitamins and minerals from those very same veggies!

Every week I buy a head of cabbage just for this purpose. I also pick up a huge variety of fresh vegetables without any recipe in mind, but knowing I can make salads or stir fry from them.  Finally,  I also keep frozen (not canned!) veggies in my freezer for moments when I might be short on fresh options.

This is so very simple to do, and it’s my “go to” when I’m feeling hunger pains but I’m short on time for whipping up something healthy – it’s already made and ready for me so I don’t binge on something unhealthy.

Garbage soup

The recipe for the above soup:

Valerie’s GARBAGE SOUP

  • 1 head cabbage, chopped
  • 1 fresh yellow squash, sliced (I sliced them pretty, not necessary!)
  • 2 fresh zucchini (again, I sliced them pretty)
  • 2 diced, fresh tomatoes
  • 1 large yellow onion
  • 1 bag frozen peas
  • 1 bag frozen green beans
  • Add any other veggies you might have on hand!
  • Lots of my favorite seasonings and seasoning blends

Cover the vegetables with water until totally submerged.

Bring to boil then simmer on low for a few hours.